chamber music – electronics


29.May 2018 // 19:30
Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio-Saal
PHACE Series 17/18 – N°4


Michael Wendeberg


Agata Zubel, voice
Alfred Reiter, electronics/sound design


Sylvie Lacroix, flute
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Petra Ackermann, viola
Roland Schueler, cello


The fourth concert encircles vocal phenomena, the voice, breathing and the air. Helmut Lachenmann, his precisely differentiated sound world and his provoking understanding of art formulated in various music-theoretical works, has greatly influenced later generations of artists and composers and has changed our listening habits. In temA, one of the first works of his “Musique concrète instrumentale” Lachenmann focuses on breathing as an acoustically mediated energetic process and creates an impressive sound cosmos (voice: Agata Zubel).
Fascinated by Samuel Beckett’s famous monologue of an elderly, traumatized woman who begins to speak after decades of silence, Not I by Agata Zubel is a sonic investigation of the voice: Words dissected into vowels and consonants, percussive textures separated by pauses and furious singing of astonishing energy focused on the sensation of speaking and hearing when the vocal cords had been out of use for long time.
And yet another debut, the Austrian premiere of Cinemaolio by Francesca Verunelli, one of the most promising composers today, and the highly anticipated new work of the Austrian composer Thomas Wally.


Helmut Lachenmann 
TemA for flute, voice, cello (1968)

Francesca Verunelli
Cinemaolio For flute, clarinet, piano, violin, viola, cello (2014) (Austrian premiere)


Thomas Wally
Caprice (VIII) pa[ren]thétique for small ensemble (2017/18) (world premiere)

commissioned by PHACE, with support by Wiener Konzerthaus

Agata Zubel
Not I for voice, ensemble, electronics (2010), text: Samuel Beckett,
interpreted by PHACE
Text: Samuel Beckett
voice: Agata Zubel

Einzeltickets für LUFT

Pre-Sale for single tickets (2017) at the
Wiener Konzerthaus starts in December 2017

Ticket prices are available as from fall 2017!

Event Dates

May 2018
  • Date
  • 29.May.2018 19:30

    PHACE series @ KH | Luft

    Wien, Konzerthaus

    Das vierte Konzert des Zyklus umkreist an den Rändern thematisch die Stimme, das Atmen und Luft: Das Brechen der Stille hat die Komponistin & Sängerin Agata Zubel für ihr Werk Not I (für Stimme, Ensemble und Elektronik) besonders fasziniert. Dazu erstmals in Österreich zu hören: Francesca Verunelli und eine Uraufführung von Thomas Wally.

    Read more


By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions