Solo & Ensemble – Chamber Music – Electronics – Film & Live Music


our series at
Wiener Konzerthaus


Simeon Pironkoff
Joseph Trafton
Nacho de Paz

Sylvie Laxroix , flute
Walter Seebacher, clarinet
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Lars Mlekusch, saxophone
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Petra Ackermann, viola
Roland Schueler, cello
Maximilian Ölz, double bass
Alexandra Dienz, double bass

Pierre Boulez passed away on the 5th of January 2016. „If you don’t question yourself every day, life has no meaning“ he once remarked. And indeed he managed to follow this maxim in making music, be it as a composer or a conductor. It is therefore this ‚mantra’ of his, that we chose to characterize our cycle. As a tribute to this uncompromising and revolutionary composer and conductor, who greatly contributed in giving the 20th century a musical profile, we will perform his nine part cycle Le marteau sans maitre based on poems by René Char and scored for alto voice and six instrumentalists. A much admired and unique composition, it was to be his breakthrough as a composer at the Donaueschingen festival of 1955. In memory of and as a hommage to Pierre Boulez, we have also invited several internationally renowned composers to set short reflexions of theirs on his work to music. The first two parts of the program cycle will almost entirely consist of new works by composers who will bring our „hearing into motion“. Music, which demands a sense of perception willing to follow and transcend borders.

Wolfram Schurigs new Konzert für Violine und großes Ensemble, a world premiere (soloist: Ivana Pristasova), as well as his works in general are conceived with the inalienable desire to reach previously untouched musical ground and be at a ready to set sail for the unknown at any given moment. It is through his compositions that Michael Jarrell continuously creates his musical self portrait: it reflects his constant striving for clarity and exactitude in his work as a composer. With Assonance 1c for ensemble (also a world premiere) Michael Jarrell has created a brilliant sequel in virtuoso fashion of his cycle „Assonance“. It is with great eagerness, that we await the new work of swiss composer and cultural scholar Patrick Frank, who so greatly managed to polarize audiences with his theoretical opera Freiheit – die eutopische Gesellschaft at the Donaueschingen musical festival.

With Mauricio Pauly (Costa Rica/GB), Sivan Cohen Elias (Israel) and Hannes Kerschbaumer (I) we will also give the younger generation a space to engage in an intense collaborative effort in search of individual forms of expression. One of the first science fiction films, Paris qui dort, a silent film by director René Clair with music by the french composer Yan Maresz, will continue our sequence Film and Live Music.

Schedule for this series
TUE 22.11.2016 KH series #1 – PHACE | ASSONANCE Solo & Ensemble
TUE 10.01.2017 KH series #2 – PHACE | NEXT GENERATION Chamber Music & Electronics
WED 15.03.2017 KH series #3 – PHACE | PARIS QUI DORT Silent Movie & Live Music
TUE 13.06.2017 KH series#4 – PHACE | LE MARTEAU Ensemble

Abonnements & Ticketpreise

Get your ticket now and become a member of the PHACE-Community!

As subscriber you will get detailed information sent by post mail one week before the concerts.

Subscriber Price
members 65,20 Euro
regular price 79,- Euro

Wheelchair space + accompanying person members
members 98,20 Euro
regular 119,- Euro

youth subscription
Normal 48,- Euro

Prices of single tickets are available as from fall 2016!

Members of the Wr. Konzerthausgesellschaft (Contribution for the 2016/17 season: €65,-) receive a 17,5% discount on up to 2 subscription series per season.

Event Dates


By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions