7.May.2024 // 19:30
Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio-Saal

PHACE Series 23/24 – N°3

Doris Nicoletti, flute
Walter Seebacher, clarinet
Reinhold Brunner, clarinet
Michael Krenn, saxophone
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Ivana Pristasova Zaugg, violin
Petra Ackermann, viola
Roland Schueler, cello
Maximilian Ölz, double bass
Alexandra Dienz, double bass
and many more …

Alfred Reiter


Sarah Nemtsov
Sechs Zeichen for cello und (prepared) piano, 2010

Mikel Urquiza
Opus Latericium for flute, saxophone, clarinet and piano, 2018

Katharina Rosenberger
New piece(wp), 2023/24
Comissioned by PHACE

Victor Ibarra
New piece (wp), 2023/24
Commissioned by PHACE, funded by Sistema Nacional de Creadores de Arte (FONCA) Mexico

Jorge Sanchez-Chiong
Animal Smileys for string trio and electronics, 2022


Opus Latericium is inspired by a Roman adobe construction of the imperial period. Triangular bricks, united to a dotted, polished, hard and refractory surface: from the outside, the repetitive music of Mikel Urquiza destructively hammers in time-lapse the hard shell, exposes the ruin. What remains of the wall shows little resemblance to the beginning. Fractured and weathered, a scattered remnant. Sechs Zeichen by Sarah Nemtsov is also built on a deceptive foundation of instability. What seems static begins to take on a life of its own and change shape. Fragile sounds of longing, wrapped in a mysterious veil of sound, enter into an interplay with the insistent throbbing of sharp-edged sounds, rocking up to opposing poles that ultimately cancel each other out. In Animal Smileys, Jorge Sanchez-Chiong uses completely different tools to create music that is no less intense. Strange string sounds, dragged through the experimental laboratory of electronic effects, deformed, denatured, saturated. A rich sound experience that makes the ears gyrate on the experimental trance floor. Victor Ibarra’s compositions are usually characterized by a very precise handling of harmonies and tone structures and attention to rhythmic accents. In contrast, Katharina Rosenberger’s works question both musical production and reception habits from several angles. Both of them will probably contribute very different new works to the concert.

Abonnements & Ticketpreise

Sichern Sie sich jetzt Ihr Abo und werden Sie Teil der

Als AbonnentIn erhalten Sie von uns eine Woche vor jedem Konzert per Post genauere Informationen zum Konzert.

Mitglieder 61,10 Euro
Normal 74,- Euro

Rollstuhlplatz + Begleitperson
Mitglieder 64,20 Euro
Normal 70 Euro

Jugendmitglieder der WKHG
Normal 36,- Euro

Preise Einzeltickets ab Herbst 2022 verfügbar!


Event Dates

May 2024
  • Date
  • 07.May.2024 19:30

    PHACE Series 2023/24 #3 – ANIMAL SMILEYS

    Wiener Konzerthaus, Berio Saal

    Opus latericium ist von einer römischen Lehmziegelbauweise der Kaiserzeit inspiriert. Dreieckige Ziegel, zu einer gepunkteten, polierten, harten und feuerfesten Oberfläche vereint: von der Außenseite durchbricht die repetitive Musik von Mikel Urquiza zerstörerisch hämmernd im Zeitraffer die harte Schale, legt die Ruine frei. Was von der Mauer stehen bleibt zeigt nur noch wenig Ähnlichkeit zum Anfang, ...

    Read more


By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions